About

Greetings readers!

My name is Madison McSweeney, and I’m a writer, poet and columnist from Ottawa, Canada.

This blog features some of my original fiction, poetry, and artwork. To see some of my non-fiction work, check out my other blog Nothing to See Here. Frequent topics include the Canadian arts scene, genre fiction, music, and politics.

Publication History:

My fantasy-noir short Daydream Noir won 1st Place in The Fulcrum’s Fiction Contest in 2015.

In November 2016, my zombie apocalypse mystery “We Have Rules Here” was published in Dark Horizons, a dark science fiction anthology from Elder Signs Press (available now!)

On March 10, 2017, my flash fiction short “Leader” was the featured story on 365 Tomorrows.

Influences:

Literary: Stephen King, Clive Barker, Neil Gaiman, Ray Bradbury, Thomas Harris, Edgar Allan Poe, H.P. Lovecraft, Richard Matheson, William Gibson, Arthur C. Clarke, and Celtic folklore

Music: David Bowie, Alice Cooper, Iggy Pop, Jethro Tull, The Ramones, Megadeth, Smashing Pumpkins, Courtney Love, Amanda Palmer, My Chemical Romance, Billy Talent, Metric, Avril Lavigne, and punk rock.

Film: Quentin Tarantino, Stanley Kubrick, Tim Burton, Joss Whedon, the Coen Brothers, the Washowskis, zombie movies, classic horror and film noir.

Leave a Reply

